Where are the 9 Leapfrog 'F' hospitals? .

UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside, Pittsburgh



The Leapfrog Group gave nine hospitals failing grades in its spring 2019 Hospital Safety Grades released May 15.

The organization assigns letter grades every fall and spring to more than 2,600 acute care hospitals for patient safety performance.

This figure marks a decrease from the 17 hospitals that received an "F" in Leapfrog's fall 2018 Safety Grades update. Of the nine hospitals assigned "F"s this spring, two also earned "F"s this past fall. These hospitals are denoted with asterisks below.

Here is a list of this spring's "F" hospitals broken down by state:


National Park Medical Center (Hot Springs)


Lompoc Valley Medical Center

Valley Presbyterian Hospital (Van Nuys)


Methodist Hospital of Henderson


Hurley Medical Center (Flint)

New Mexico

Rehoboth McKinley Christian Health Care Services (Gallup)*

New York

St. John's Episcopal Hospital (New York City)*

UPMC Chautauqua WCA (Jamestown)

Washington, D.C.

United Medical Center

More articles on clinical leadership and infection control:
WHO head 'profoundly worried' about Ebola spreading from Congo
Hackensack Meridian Health researcher gets $33M NIH grant to fight drug-resistant infections
Washington state drops personal exemptions for MMR vaccine

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2019. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.